Confident businesswoman holding microphone while asking questions during seminar


Following the IFSPT General Meeting in Madrid 2010, it was agreed by the membership that specialist recognition could be achieved through several routes. It was also agreed that the first of the tiered approaches to specialist recognition by IFSPT would be to peer review applications from member countries with existing specialist pathways in Sports Physiotherapy. These individual countries needing to have their CPD pathway assessed to ensure consistency of requirements and standards.


Currently, gaining recognition as a Registered International Sports Physical Therapist (RISPT) is only available to individuals through their own country's approved CPD pathway assessment processes which have been approved by IFSPT. Gaining recognition for individuals from countries without an approved CPD pathway is currently not available. The IFSPT can support new countries in developing their own pathways, so please do contact us as this will aid the development of the specialty for your members in your own country.


Process for specialist recognition.

Identification of specialist competencies in Sports Physical Therapy was completed through the EU-funded Sports Physiotherapy for All (SPA) project in 2007. This document was accepted by the IFSPT membership and is now used as the benchmark for assessing specialist status. Part of the SPA project was also to design a toolkit to be able to audit professional development towards specialist status. This document was also used to inform the peer review process that was developed through the Registration Board.


Review and Initial Development.
Following the initial consultation and peer review process, six member countries of IFSPT were initially approved, and since this date further countries have been added. The following countries have an approved pathway allowing recognition of specialty status by the IFSPT:

  • Australia: Titled Sports Physiotherapist
  • Austria
  • Belgium: Gold Member
  • Canada: SPC Credential Program
  • Denmark
  • Ireland: Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists, Level 3 Accreditation in Sports Physiotherapy
  • Italy: Italian Sport Physical Therapist accredited - third level of certification through GISPT SPT pathway
  • New Zealand - Complete the Specialisation Pathway through the Physiotherapy Board of New Zealand. Must complete specialisation in the Sports Category.
  • Norway
  • Sweden – Sports Physiotherapy Specialization
  • Switzerland - SSPA CPD Level A
  • The Netherlands
  • United Kingdom: Continuing Professional Development Level 3, Gold


IFSPT Registration Board

Suzanne Gard, Education Chair (SUI)

Colin Paterson, Chair (UK)

Bente Anderson (DEN)

Maria Constantinou (AUS)

Sian Harris (UK)